Kuwait Local Time

Kuwait Public Holidays

Public holidays - 2018

The Islamic festivals are based on Islamic calendar, determined by various moon phase sighting. The dates of the holidays change every year. The Holidays 2018 calendar is only based on estimates. The Kuwait holiday calendar cannot be guaranteed for 100 percent accuracy. During the lunar month of Ramadan, which precedes Eid Al-Fitr, Muslims fast during the day and feast at night and there may be interruptions in normal business patterns. Several restaurants are closed during the day and there could be restrictions on smoking and drinking. This could last from two to ten days, depending on the region.

International New Year's Day- Sunday, 1st January 2018

(Public and private sectors, and Banks in Kuwait remain closed).

National Day Kuwait

Sunday, 25th February 2018

Liberation Day Kuwait

Monday, 26th February 2018

Lailat Al Miraj - The Prophet's Ascension

Friday, 13th April 2018

Eid-al-Fitr – The end of Ramadan fasting month (3 days public holidays)

Friday, 15th June 2018
Saturday – 16th June 2018
Sunday – 17th June 2018

Arafat Day (Haj Day) – Date yet to be confirmed

Tuesday, 21st August 2018

Eid-al-Adha – Feast of sacrifice in Islamic tradition – Qurban (3 days public holidays)

Wednesday, 22nd August 2018
Thursday, 23rd August 2018

Al-Hijra – Islamic New Year

Tuesday, 11th September 2018

Milad Un Nabi – The Prophet's Birthday

Tuesday, 20th November 2018

Note: Holidays are sometimes subject to arbitrary last minute changes by local authorities, just as in any other part of the world. Although, effort has been made to present an accurate list of holidays for the year 2018, we cannot accept responsibility for any errors or omission of data herein. Therefore, you can verify the above dates with the embassy before planning a trip to Kuwait.

comments powered by Disqus

 

Top