Kuwait Local Time

Kuwait Public Holidays

Public holidays - 2017

The Islamic festivals are based on Islamic calendar, determined by various moon phase sighting. The dates of the holidays change every year. The Holidays 2017 calendar is only based on estimates. The Kuwait holiday calendar cannot be guaranteed for 100 percent accuracy. During the lunar month of Ramadan, which precedes Eid Al-Fitr, Muslims fast during the day and feast at night and there may be interruptions in normal business patterns. Several restaurants are closed during the day and there could be restrictions on smoking and drinking. This could last from two to ten days, depending on the region.

International New Year's Day- Sunday, 1st January 2017

(Public and private sectors, and Banks in Kuwait remain closed).

National Day Kuwait

Saturday, 25th February 2017

Liberation Day Kuwait

Sunday, 26th February 2017

Lailat Al Miraj - The Prophet's Ascension

Monday, 24th April 2017

Eid-al-Fitr – The end of Ramadan fasting month (3 days public holidays)

Monday, 26th June 2017
Tuesday – 27th June 2017
Wednesday – 28th June 2017

Eid-al-Adha – Feast of sacrifice in Islamic tradition – Qurban (3 days public holidays)

Friday, 1st September 2017
Saturday, 2nd September 2017
Sunday, 3rd September 2017

Al-Hijra – Islamic New Year

Thursday, 21st September 2017

Milad Un Nabi – The Prophet's Birthday

Friday, 1st December 2017

Note: Holidays are sometimes subject to arbitrary last minute changes by local authorities, just as in any other part of the world. Although, effort has been made to present an accurate list of holidays for the year 2017, we cannot accept responsibility for any errors or omission of data herein. Therefore, you can verify the above dates with the embassy before planning a trip to Kuwait.

comments powered by Disqus

 

Top